Hello GoPro Karma Pilot!
Join our Go Pro Karma community today!

Lessons learned when I lost GPS compass control yesterday

Mokuluanui

Reaction score
Yesterday I was flying my Karma when she told me that she had compass interference, then Karma lost GPS control. That night, I composed this video that might help others to avoid this from happening and what to do if or when it happens again. By the way, this is not unique to the Karma, I have had this problem with other drones as well:

One thing I recommend is to make sure the drone camera is oriented away from you when landing. I've seen too many folks crash their drones by accident, pressing the control stick in the wrong direction.

I've flown the Karma on several occasions without GPS. In fact...one of the first times (Second time I flew it)... I Just bypassed the GPS connection because I was a noob and didn't realize how important it was. I was trying to get a quick shot of my hotel balcony and was surrounded by tall buildings with wifi interference and a pretty obscured view of the sky. The drone was drifting only slightly as there was a limited breeze due to the protection of the building. I honestly didn't know any better.. I thought that was just how the drone was. I almost hit a tree... The drone was brand new to me...so I really didn't know any better...fortunately...it was a quick photo shoot, and I was able to land without further incident.