Hello GoPro Karma Pilot!
Join our Go Pro Karma community today!

Karma refusing to pair - Reverse engineering investigation

Argiris

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm an engineer and my son's Karma stopped talking to the controller a few months ago. I was not able to deal with it for some time but I thought I would take my chances to bring it back to life.
I am starting this thread to log progress and report findings... I'm also hoping that maybe a more experienced fellow engineer might drop any ideas to help out.

The fault we are seeing is that the gimbal would not power on and the drone will not talk to the controller -- pairing is impossible. There is no other fault visible and the camera & gimbal work fine if connected to a handheld stabilizer.

I'm beginning to write this on my third second session on the drone -- so I do have some ideas of what is going on but allow me to document the steps so far at first.

Karma controller
The controller runs on an AMLogic chipset. Others have shown how to get the controller firmware downloaded to a PC. Look around this forum for more information. We'll also look inside the controller firmeare

Karma architecture - Initial inspection
Inside the drone there is a smaller STM32 ARM MCU and a more powerful TI DSP (DM368) running Linux. The smaller MCU handles the sensors and flight operations while the larger DSP handles the video coding from the camera.

- There are connectors that are marked "DEBUG" for both the STM and the DM CPUs (YEAH!!)
- Most of the fine-pitch components are potted. Although this is a good thing, it means there won't be any direct probing or component (re)soldering.
20220307_132457.jpg
First debug attempt