Hello GoPro Karma Pilot!
Join our Go Pro Karma community today!
Sign up

GPS issue

Ironspear

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2018
Messages
418
Reaction score
209
Age
57
Location
Adelaide, South Australia
Does anybody know how to fix the gps issue with the karma
Have you installed the latest updates?
There was an issue with the GPS for all Karma quads as we entered 2020.
GoPro fixed it with an update.

Hope this helps

Good luck.

Have fun.
 

Bo gopro

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
47
The Karma Drone v2.50.01 update:- Karma Drone
Need help.
I just setup my drone bought back in 2017 for the first time. Everything is up to date but calibration keeps failing. It says can’t calibrate without gps. Am I doing something wrong?
 

Steve7

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2017
Messages
89
Reaction score
90
Location
Belfast, Northern Ireland.
Website
www.skphotoscom.co.uk

Bo gopro

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
47
Thanks, but I already have latest updates. The Karma Drone v2.50.01 is installed. All devices show “up to date”. Should I change the location and try again? The article some rare locations in the world have the magnetic issue. Am I at the rare location ??
 

Steve7

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2017
Messages
89
Reaction score
90
Location
Belfast, Northern Ireland.
Website
www.skphotoscom.co.uk
Thanks, but I already have latest updates. The Karma Drone v2.50.01 is installed. All devices show “up to date”. Should I change the location and try again? The article some rare locations in the world have the magnetic issue. Am I at the rare location ??
All I can tell you is I know mine took several attempts to re-calibrate even after the update to v2.50.01, either persevere with it, or give the GoPro Support a shout.
Also worth looking through this thread to check for similar problems...good luck.
GoPro Support Hub: Karma
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bo gopro

dronelover

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2020
Messages
140
Reaction score
50
Age
35
try to calibrate accelerometer first before the compass. It seems to be a workarou d for some people.
 

Sarge

Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
10
Age
54
Location
Pittsburgh PA
This is bs! Go pro shouldnt just leave us stranded on the ground. I know you could fly anyways, but who wants to take that chance. We bought this karma for a reason...not to take our chances. Go pro needs to fix this problem.
 

james shih

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2018
Messages
96
Reaction score
54
Age
74
I always calibrate both the compass and accelerometer before taking off, it is easy to use a rolling plate ( normally adapted in the flora design), and finished in a short time if there are not much interference, there are two possible reasons that Karma can't be calibrated : 1. heavy magnetic or WIFI interference such as in the urban or residential area, 2. Karma receives not enough gps signal such as indoor, you have to always move to another spots until it is calibrated.
I have now 2 fleets for my aerophotography totally include 2 Gopro Karma, and 3 Parrot Anafi, they are all fine if you do follow the pre-flight process.

Gopro Karma:
slide-204.jpg
Parrot Anafi:
slide-13.jpg
 

JCLs

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2017
Messages
340
Reaction score
181
Age
72
Sarge,

Quit dreaming, GoPro actually did pretty good for a long time after discontinuing the product. This is reality.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Sarge

Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
10
Age
54
Location
Pittsburgh PA
I'm not dreaming. The go pro cameras still have gps. Especially the go pro 8. There isn't any reason why they can't put out a new update to fix this problem. I have alot of money wrapped up in the karma. Cant believe they would just put all the karma users out to pasture.
 

Sarge

Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
10
Age
54
Location
Pittsburgh PA
Ok the karma is back up and running. When I turned on the controller it said everything was updated and a check mark was on each piece. So I decided to check. The karma drone itself was not showing a valid update of 2.50.01. I had to manually update the drone. So I just flew the drone with no problems. Glad is all up to date.
 

GeekDaddy

Active Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
34
Reaction score
30
Age
58
Ok the karma is back up and running. When I turned on the controller it said everything was updated and a check mark was on each piece. So I decided to check. The karma drone itself was not showing a valid update of 2.50.01. I had to manually update the drone. So I just flew the drone with no problems. Glad is all up to date.
How do you manually update the drone firmware? Just curious...
 

Sarge

Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
10
Age
54
Location
Pittsburgh PA
You have to get on gopro.com or the gopro app and go to updates. They will have a list of cameras and drone items that show updates. Make sure the controller, camera are updated and and then the drone unit can be updated.
 

dronelover

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2020
Messages
140
Reaction score
50
Age
35
Yes the drone can be updated even without a camera or gimbal attached. No harm done.
If not attaching a camera then dont attach the gimbal.
 

New Threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
979
Messages
6,952
Members
2,178
Latest member
Billymontz