Hello GoPro Karma Pilot!
Join our Go Pro Karma community today!
Sign up

Compass not calibrating.

Jimmyriddle

Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Age
48
Hi guys....Tried to fly my ‘Karma today,(June/14/2020) and the compass would not calibrate,anybody know if GoPro is having this problem again?...
 

JCLs

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2017
Messages
340
Reaction score
181
Age
72
Flew mine yesterday. The last fix was to resolve an issue that once resolved will not come up again. GoPro not changing or doing anything for Karma. It is what it is.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

Shuzamm

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
6
Age
52
Hi guys....Tried to fly my ‘Karma today,(June/14/2020) and the compass would not calibrate,anybody know if GoPro is having this problem again?...
Make sure the Karma is on 2.50.01 firmware and you should be good.
 

dronelover

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2020
Messages
145
Reaction score
51
Age
35
Calibrate the accelerometer first then the compass.

its a known workaround.
 
  • Like
Reactions: XerxesZ

james shih

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2018
Messages
96
Reaction score
55
Age
74
You must have a clear sky for karma to receive GPS signal, then karma will let you do the calibration.
Be patient to find the less wifi interference spots for a successful calibration, always calibrate both the compass and accelerator meter before every take-off (except you just change the battery), then happy flying.
 
  • Like
Reactions: XerxesZ

dronelover

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2020
Messages
145
Reaction score
51
Age
35
No dont calibrate your accelerometer outdoors you need a flat stable surface for it.
Unless you see any jerky movements or out of the blue behavior hovering then you dont need to calibrate the accele. I do calibrate it from time to time but not always.

compass i do all the time before each flight.
 

james shih

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2018
Messages
96
Reaction score
55
Age
74
I always follow the software message "calibration is completed", if karma is not on a flat surface, there is the message "put karma in a level surface" and the calibration won't be completed, I am not sure is it any harm to calibrate the accelerator meter before every flight.
 

JCLs

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2017
Messages
340
Reaction score
181
Age
72
You must have a clear sky for karma to receive GPS signal, then karma will let you do the calibration.
Be patient to find the less wifi interference spots for a successful calibration, always calibrate both the compass and accelerator meter before every take-off (except you just change the battery), then happy flying.

Compass is not GPS driven and does not need a clear sky.
Compass in Karma is very sensitive to nearby metal including the rebar and wire mesh in concrete. Light poles, power lines and nearby cars etc. can interfere with compass. Normally there is no need to keep calibrating the accelerometer,


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

james shih

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2018
Messages
96
Reaction score
55
Age
74
You can't proceed the "compass calibration" with Karma drone when you are indoor or have no enough GPS signal karma received, if you just launch it then there might be a "compass error" (especially in the autonomous fly) and result a crash.
 

ricksahr

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
51
GoPro Karma is not calibrating in vertical position. has anyone an idea where the problem lies? I tried
several ways to find a work around but failed. All components firmware is up to date. Any idea?

Regards,

Rick
 

james shih

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2018
Messages
96
Reaction score
55
Age
74
GoPro Karma is not calibrating in vertical position. has anyone an idea where the problem lies? I tried
several ways to find a work around but failed. All components firmware is up to date. Any idea?

Regards,

Rick
Have you tried another locations? Karma is very sensitive to the magnetic interference, normally it will be fine when you move to the different spots.
I use a rotating plate to do the calibration, it becomes easy and more stable, the whole calibration ended within one minute, by the way ,when you rotate the karma during the process specially in vertical position, watching the controller screen, the dots should be connected one by one without space in between.
karma plate-1.jpg
 

Ironspear

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2018
Messages
420
Reaction score
211
Age
58
Location
Adelaide, South Australia
GoPro Karma is not calibrating in vertical position. has anyone an idea where the problem lies? I tried
several ways to find a work around but failed. All components firmware is up to date. Any idea?

Regards,

Rick
Hiya mate.
Also, you have to turn VERY VERY slowly when calibrating.
Good luck.
 

ricksahr

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
51
Hiya mate.
Also, you have to turn VERY VERY slowly when calibrating.
Good luck.
hi there. so, bought a turnable cake plate and used it to calibrate the darn drone. as before, it does the calibration trick when doing it horizontally. however. having the drone on a vertical position, and turning very very very super very slowly, the calibration error still comes up. I guess my karma is that my karma drone fucks up my entire karma.... gosh, it really gets me somehow. tomorrow, I will start to disasemble the drone. bit by bit. I am eager to find out what gives. if any of you reading this post has additional ideas the god of karma drones is not revealing to the comon folks.... any idea is highly appreciated....
 

ricksahr

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
51
Have you tried another locations? Karma is very sensitive to the magnetic interference, normally it will be fine when you move to the different spots.
I use a rotating plate to do the calibration, it becomes easy and more stable, the whole calibration ended within one minute, by the way ,when you rotate the karma during the process specially in vertical position, watching the controller screen, the dots should be connected one by one without space in between.
View attachment 592
as mentioned to the other pilot, it is not happening! I can't get the darn thing working and it really starts wearing on me... I even bought a turnable plate, changed the spot many times and no improvment there. tomorrow is the day I will take the darn thing apart. bit by bit.... lol
 

james shih

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2018
Messages
96
Reaction score
55
Age
74
Hi,
How about the blue dots on the controller's screen, are they connected one by one without spaces in between, where are you doing the calibration, did you try the spots in the rural area or just in the near urban surroundings, I think it is not the machine itself, the magnetic (WIFI,power lines, mental parts etc.,) interference is the problem.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ironspear

New Threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
984
Messages
6,986
Members
2,203
Latest member
bozmanx