Hello GoPro Karma Pilot!
Join our Go Pro Karma community today!
Sign up

Karma controller not turning on camera

Murray

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
1
Age
66
I get good reception from camera in flight but controller does not record drone journey on camera SD. It happened once when I pressed the record button for more than 3 seconds and a bar appeared on bottom of controller screen of elapsed time. Are there manual presettings on the camera which prevent videos from being taken. Do I need the extreme SD.
 
  • Like
Reactions: thesurfer26

Shon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
402
Reaction score
242
Age
44
Location
California, USA
Incompatible SD cards are a known issue with Gopro Hero Cameras. You should make sure you are only using an approved SD card in a GoPro camera.

Do you have any problems with the camera on the ground? Can you film with it outside the drone? What about using the Karma Grip?
 

thesurfer26

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Age
40
I have experienced similar problems:
I got a silver 4 and a black 5 camera and both harnesses for the karma.
So far I haven’t had any luck making the 5 work with the drone, only with the grip.
The 4 silver works fine, it does get recognized by the drone and every component it’s up to date... but the record and mode buttons on the side of the controller don’t seem to work AT ALL. I can fly the 4 silver no problem, but it never activates the record on the camera while connected to the drone. On the grip I have no problem. I have a compatible SD card as well per gopro specifications from the list of compatible cards.
I’ve tried several times, taking the camera in and out from the housing, removing the battery and/or the SD card, removing the stabilizer and re-inserting it and nothing seems to work.
I believe I have a malfunctioning housing for the 5 black since that doesn’t get recognized on the drone. When it shows up after booting the drone up it says camera not detected or camera malfunction, even though it shows on the devices as up to date.
As why the record button doesn’t enable the recording on the 4 silver or let me change the mode (not responsive) I have no clue why could that be.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
I’ve only had the system for about 2 weeks and gopro customer service doesn’t seem to know the reason for these issues either.
Thanks for reading
 

Shon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
402
Reaction score
242
Age
44
Location
California, USA
The Hero 4 and 5 have a completely different “harness”. You actually have to remove one harness from the stabilizer with a special screw driver, in order to install the orher.

I have no idea how you would be flying with a Hero 4 in a Hero 5 harness. Perhaps you actually have a Hero 4 Harness?
 

thesurfer26

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Age
40
The Hero 4 and 5 have a completely different “harness”. You actually have to remove one harness from the stabilizer with a special screw driver, in order to install the orher.

I have no idea how you would be flying with a Hero 4 in a Hero 5 harness. Perhaps you actually have a Hero 4 Harness?
That is correct. 2 different harness, 1 for each camera and yes I have both. What I meant is that I remove the harness, use the 4 and it flies but it doesn't record.
When I try the 5, I remove the harness, use the one I have for the 5, put it all together again, and that one doesn't gets recognized by the drone. Both harness and cameras work fine with the grip
 
  • Like
Reactions: Shon

Shon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
402
Reaction score
242
Age
44
Location
California, USA
That is correct. 2 different harness, 1 for each camera and yes I have both. What I meant is that I remove the harness, use the 4 and it flies but it doesn't record.
When I try the 5, I remove the harness, use the one I have for the 5, put it all together again, and that one doesn't gets recognized by the drone. Both harness and cameras work fine with the grip
Hmm... if they work with the Grip it sounds more like a problem with the body of the drone. I hope Gopro customer support has some answers.
 

thesurfer26

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Age
40
Hmm... if they work with the Grip it sounds more like a problem with the body of the drone. I hope Gopro customer support has some answers.
Hmm... if they work with the Grip it sounds more like a problem with the body of the drone. I hope Gopro customer support has some answers.
I was on the phone with them earlier, they seem to think the problem might be the stabilizer malfunctioning when in use with the drone. They’re sending a replacement... we’ll see. I’ll keep you posted once I replace it.
 

Shon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
402
Reaction score
242
Age
44
Location
California, USA
I was on the phone with them earlier, they seem to think the problem might be the stabilizer malfunctioning when in use with the drone. They’re sending a replacement... we’ll see. I’ll keep you posted once I replace it.
Awesome. Best of luck!
 

thesurfer26

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Age
40
I was on the phone with them earlier, they seem to think the problem might be the stabilizer malfunctioning when in use with the drone. They’re sending a replacement... we’ll see. I’ll keep you posted once I replace it.
Update: Drone has been up and working. It seemed to work after changing stabilizer and now starts and flights as it suppose to.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Shon and Ironspear

New Threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
812
Messages
5,692
Members
1,674
Latest member
glenn.blakey978