Hello GoPro Karma Pilot!
Join our Go Pro Karma community today!
Sign up

Force needed to remove GoPro from Karma mount

mjbok

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2018
Messages
63
Reaction score
29
Age
48
I don't know if this is by design, but (to me) it seems like a lot of force is necessary to be insert and remove the Karma from the mount. Am I alone in this?
 

heloflights

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
3
Age
63
Same on mine, due no doubt to the two female connectors on the side of the camera mating with their male counter parts on the frame.
 

Ironspear

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2018
Messages
397
Reaction score
201
Age
57
Location
Adelaide, South Australia
Yes it is hard to remove and insert. It doesnt seem to get easier with use either.
Keep practicing with removing it and it gets easier to hold and remove.
Its almost as if they (GoPro) dont want you to remove it lol.
 

Shon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
450
Reaction score
300
Age
45
Location
California, USA
I’ve never had that issue. Sometimes, I can’t get it to “lock securely” into the drone or Grip. I readjust the stabilizer, reseat it, open and shut the locking mechanism while gently rocking the stabilizer back and forth, until it slides in and locks without force.

Note that the Grip Mount ring ( used to mount the Grip to something like a selfy stick) definitely has a “top” and “bottom” and the camera will be hard to lock into place if you put it on upside down.
 

Ninabeertje

Active Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
16
Age
64
Same here. Needs force to insert or remove gopro. Problems is not the connectors bud the tight fit into the harness.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn ONEPLUS A3003 met Tapatalk
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ironspear

Shon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
450
Reaction score
300
Age
45
Location
California, USA
It fits pretty tightly into the harness, but I don't have to put much force behind it. I always wonder if the harness door will close, but it does...no room for error that is for sure.

I always double check it too...I would hate for that thing to swing open during flight!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ironspear

Ironspear

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2018
Messages
397
Reaction score
201
Age
57
Location
Adelaide, South Australia
It fits pretty tightly into the harness, but I don't have to put much force behind it. I always wonder if the harness door will close, but it does...no room for error that is for sure.

I always double check it too...I would hate for that thing to swing open during flight!
I agree with you Shon.
I find it fiddly to get the right grip on the camera (where to pull from).
I have a system now and it works fine until I forget about it lol!
Then I remember!
I understand that it need to be a snug fit.
Practice makes perfect!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Shon

mattleach2114

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Age
36
Location
Spring Hill, FL
Website
goo.gl
When i was using the Hero 4 in the drone (with supporting frame) it was a simple slide in and out but since the release of the 5 and up with the rubberized coating i have to put some pressure to get my Hero 6 or 7 in and out
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ironspear

Shon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
450
Reaction score
300
Age
45
Location
California, USA
When i was using the Hero 4 in the drone (with supporting frame) it was a simple slide in and out but since the release of the 5 and up with the rubberized coating i have to put some pressure to get my Hero 6 or 7 in and out
Sounds like you aren't the only one with this issue... I'm using the Hero 5. Maybe the 6 and 7 are even harder?
 

Ironspear

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2018
Messages
397
Reaction score
201
Age
57
Location
Adelaide, South Australia
When i was using the Hero 4 in the drone (with supporting frame) it was a simple slide in and out but since the release of the 5 and up with the rubberized coating i have to put some pressure to get my Hero 6 or 7 in and out
You know, I reckon it is because of the rubberised coating.
As long as you line the connections up correctly all will be fine.
 

New Threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
930
Messages
6,621
Members
1,995
Latest member
juanhzk